Diddy Sparks Resume Revolution

July 30, 2007

So far, on my little journey into the blogosphere here, I’ve enjoyed highlighting businesses, business models, people, etc. that have an innovative bent.  I’ve also discussed in the past my hopes of completing my business program with a narrative, interactive, multimedia-based (I’m going to have to work on narrowing those descriptives down to something more malleable) business plan. 

The New York Times reported today that Sean Combs, aka Diddy, P. Diddy, Puff Daddy, is looking to recruit a new personal assistant.  He is rumored to be a rather demanding boss judging by the NY Times article.  If you like the idea of being yelled at and holding his umbrella, it may be your type of job.  The interesting slant to this that makes it worthy of the Conceptual Age is the fact that Diddy is not accepting resumes.  Not paper ones anyways.

Diddy has uploaded a video on YouTube alerting cyberspace he is looking for a new assistant.  He is not accepting resumes, but rather maximum 3 minute video clips describing what makes you the right person for the job, to be uploaded onto YouTube.  Viewers will pick the finalists, and Combs will pick the winner.

It would be of interest to those considering applying for the job that Diddy’s last personal assistant, Fonzworth Bentley, used his position to land a recording deal, endorsements, and launch his own line of umbrellas!

I’m starting to see more and more evidence that my idea of a multimedia narrative business plan will be something that we may see more of in the future and likely we will see more employers asking for videoclips to be attached to resumes to give them a more personal quality.

Check out Combs’ video below:

2 Responses to “Diddy Sparks Resume Revolution”

  1. Dan Schawbel Says:

    p diddy would be a horrible boss. It’s a creative idea but why lower yourself for this guy?

  2. jdavey Says:

    I myself wouldn’t do it, but I was more trying to highlight the creativity behind the idea. There are people that would say this isn’t really lowering yourself if you’re using it to create your own opportunities.


Leave a comment