Transparency And The Narrative In Business Planning

July 1, 2007

In keeping with my belief in complete transparency in the business world, I have decided to use the webspace so kindly given to me by Barnraiser.net as a tool to document the development of my business.  While I’m developing the site it is unavailable to those who don’t have a password.  However, anyone who would like involvement can email me at jdavey232006@yahoo.ca and I’ll gladly give you the information you require to participate.

My other hope is that one day, if I happen to need outside investment, the narrative quality of my “business plan” will be a differentiating factor to potential investors.  While unorthodox, I believe adding a “story” quality to a business pitch can potentially lower the defenses of investors and allow them the ability to actually relate to the idea.

One Response to “Transparency And The Narrative In Business Planning”


  1. Hey,

    Thanks for the link, Barnraiser looks very interesting! ‘Unorthodox’ business planning is our specialty too. We’re launched PlanHQ in March, which is another online business planning tool. We’ve made it a lot more structured than Barnraiser, but along the same lines: Planning needs to be more collaborative and less about writing a static document.
    Feel free to sign up to our 30 day free trial if you want to try it out, but otherwise, it’s nice to see that there are people out there who share our beliefs 🙂


Leave a Reply

