Top 100 Goals

June 17, 2007

So I’m feeling a bit better today.  I woke up ridiculously early this morning and began to work on my “first trend” article which will be posted sometime today.  I needed a bit of a break though, so I decided to work on something else for a while.

What am I working on? A list of 100 goals I will strive to achieve before I die.

I first started this last year but never completed it.  Lately though, I’ve been a big fan of Mark Batterson’s blog, evotional.com, and he has been working on a similar project lately.  He mentioned one of his inspirations in his coming up with 100 goals being Jon Goddard, who, always knowing he wanted to be an explorer, came up with 127 goals related to exploration and adventure.  From what I have read, at the age of 74 he had accomplished 109 of his goals.  He has been something of an inspiration to me as well and so as I lay ill yesterday, I figured there was no better time to work on such as project.

I found that it worked best for me if I compartmentalized my goals into separate areas of my life.  Right now I have them separated into the following categories:

  1.   Spiritual
  2.   Family
  3.   Career
  4.   Health And Fitness
  5.   Personal/Fun

As of last night I had came up with a total of 54 goals.  My aim is to have about 20 goals in each category in the hopes that I will be successful in leading a balanced life.  I thought that it would be a light, fun exercise to share them.  So this is what I have (goals in their respective categories are not ordered in any specific fashion, they are random):

Spiritual

  • Know God intimately (as Pascal did)
  • Plant a church
  • Bring 100 people to Christ through face-to-face contact
  • Be ordained as a Christian minister
  • Write a spiritually relevant book
  • Start a Christian ministry devoted to solving large-scale humanitarian and environmental problems
  • Use the Godlab blog as a collaborative tool culminating in developing solutions to overcoming resistance to Christian evangelism in the West.  To be published in some media format (most likely book) from which any proceeds would be donated to a church or social cause
  • Be well-versed in Scripture (be prepared to defend your faith)
  • Read the Bible, spend time with the Lord, and pray daily
  • Be knowledgeable in other world religions
  • Support 10 missionaries in India through Gospel For Asia
  • Host a small group

Family

  • Celebrate 50th anniversary with Kaitlin, my lovely wife
  • Raise 2-3 children (unsure yet) as Christians, embodied in action and belief, not name
  • Be the servant leader of my household
  • Take a minimum of one vacation with my family per year
  • Study the skill of parenting from the perspective of a Christian parent and be known as a great father by my children once they become adults
  • Be able to mentor another man in the are of husbandry
  • Repair relationships with parents and brothers to previous levels
  • Consistently eat dinner as a family
  • Have a consistent “family fun night”
  • Go on a family missions trip

Career

  • Finish Business Administration program at Red River College
  • Complete 4 year university degree
  • Complete MBA (Rotman School of Business at University of Toronto would be my preference)
  • Start a “for-benefit”, for-profit business in which the social interest has greater pull than the self-interest
  • Start a non-profit organization devoted to solving humanitarian and/or environmental problems
  • Be involved in local/provincial/national mental health initiatives
  • Be known globally as an accomplished “business thinker/expert” by the time I am 40 (niche yet to be determined)
  • Write a New York Times Bestseller (Business)
  • Write a New York Times Bestseller (Christian/Spiritual)
  • Be published in Fast Company, Wired, The New Yorker, and the Harvard Business Review
  • Develop the business skills and savvy required to help someone else succeed in starting their own business or organization
  • Assuming the Nau business model succeeds, improve upon that model in order to increase the “5% of sales donated” benchmark
  • Continually add to the positive reputation of my personal brand using online tools such as blogging
  • Design, develop, and coordinate an amateur publishing network as per citizen journalism

Health And Fitness

  • Exercise 3-4 times/week
  • Eat a well-balanced diet (what is that exactly?)
  • Finish a marathon in each Canadian province and territory
  • Finish a marathon on every continent
  • Finish an Ironman triathlon
  • Finish a 24 hour mountain bike race
  • Finish an adventure race
  • Organize an adventure race
  • Coach a local high school cross country running team for a season
  • Organize a road running race to race money for a cause
  • Climb a mountain (cliche, I know)
  • Take a backpacking trip in another country

Personal/Fun

  • Write about my battle with mental illness and use it to help the mentally ill in Winnipeg (I will address this in a later post)
  • Learn a computer programming language
  • Develop a website that is interactive and graphically appealing
  • Become proficient in managing my time as determined by my wife Kaitlin
  • Take at least one course/year from an educational institution
  • Renovate/build/flip a house
  • Make a film
  • Gain 20 pounds of muscle (this may sound funny, but I currently weigh about 125 pounds fully clothed)
  • Go on a cruise with Kaitlin
  • Read a minimum of 3 books/month for the rest of my life
  • Quantitatively be able to prove that I have saved 5 million lives through my for-profit business initiatives (this may seem extravagantly outlandish to some but I’d like to look at it as being understated)

So that’s what I have so far.  I had some hesitation in posting a few of the goals as I felt they may be viewed in a negative light from a personal branding perspective.  Namely those goals regarding my past battle with mental illness.  I have decided though, as one who would describe my brand as honest, full of integrity, authentic, and transparent, that I must post them and explain them in a separate post.  It is up to the reader to decide how they want to view this.  Mental illness is stigmatized fairly severely in the corporate world, but I wouldn’t want to be employed by anyone who looked down on someone who suffered from such an illness.  With that, I’m off to support my family and friends participating in today’s Manitoba Marathon.  Watch for a “business trends” posting later in the day.

2 Responses to “Top 100 Goals”

  1. shwibbs Says:

    This is a good list of goals. Of course goals are usually specific and unique per individual.

  2. adam Says:

    fantastic site


Leave a Reply

